Baby blanket -tumbler pattern-

2015_10_30_1

This is one of the two blankets I sewed as gifts for a friend. It is the first quilt I have made without following a given pattern from a third party. I already had the backing – a piece of polar fleece that was the perfect size for a baby quilt-, so whatever pattern I’d choose I was to adapt it to its size.

2015_10_30_2

I fell in love with the fabrics as soon as I saw them in the shop. They demanded a pattern to showcase the big prints, and I wanted something simple -as it was for a child-. I think the tumbler pattern ticks all the boxes: it’s simple but not as it would a square pattern, showcases the fabrics and looks fun and dynamic. I did not have a tumbler ruler, so I draw my own template on cardboard, adjusting it to the dimensions I needed to make the most of the backing. Pros of working with self-made templates: you can adjust them to your needs. Cons: you can not use the rotary cutter with them, so an extra step in drawing them to the fabric is required.

Project: Child blanket.
Size: 43″ x 33 ¼”
Date: September, 2015 – October, 2015
Pattern: tumbler pattern (self-made template 6 ½”)
Top fabric: Just Dreamy 2, by Zoe Pearn for My Mind’s Eye, Riley Blake Designs
Backing fabric: polar fleece
Batting: none.
Quilting: none.

2015_10_30_4

I will make a different post for the other blanket, so I can document each project properly!

Linking with Finish it up Friday!

2 thoughts on “Baby blanket -tumbler pattern-

  1. I like your tumbler quilt.. cheery fabric. Your blog style is great… simple, easy to read and your lighting on your photos is good. I’m working on all of the above, quilting, blogging, and getting the photos right. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

