New project: The Splendid Sampler™ -fabric selection-

2016_02_12_01

I mentioned some days ago I was considering joining a 2-block per week – one year long QAL: The Splendid Sampler™. For me it’s a huge project to undertake. For starters, I didn’t have enough fabric to tackle it (well, perhaps, but not enough variety to choose from). I didn’t, until few days ago two new fat-eight bundles joined my little stash!

I already had the fat-quarter bundle from “Pie Making Day”, by Brenda Ratliff, for RJR Fabrics. It wasn’t enough for the sampler fabrics requirements, and after some thought, I decided for two collections I’ve been longing for: Modern Background – Ink and Modern Background – Paper, by Zen Chic, for Moda Fabrics.

So my plan is to use these two as my main fabrics (they cover the dark-medium-light range), with the coloured fabrics as a contrast points in the blocks. Mainly, a black and white quilt with pops of colour!

This is for me a total new adventure: it’s going to be the biggest quilt I’ve planned to do (Stars-quilt besides, whose final dimensions are yet unknown), with techniques I do not like, master or know at all. I’m committed to do the 100 blocks, we shall see in a year how this turns out!

For the moment, and also something I don’t usually do, all the fabrics have been pre-washed and waiting for starch and pressing. With so many different techniques involved, and those plum and black prints to be paired with white fabrics, I decided to play safe against bleeding.

Leave a Reply

