The Splendid Sampler™: Block 3

2016_02_25

The 3rd block for The Splendid Sampler is called Lots of love, by Melissa Corry. If I found block nº 2 challenging, I don’t know how to describe this, although it was (only) 48 pieces. I struggled to get matching points, either when joining the two halves of the hearts or when sewing the hearts together. Surprisingly, I was able to put together the vertical row of mini-hearts without using the seam ripper!

However, I really had fun with this, and had any stress at all while re-sewing seams. I know I still have a long way in front of me to learn and improve my piecing skills, and this is what this Sampler is, for me, mostly about. To learn. To try. So I’m really happy with the final results, although I might revisit this block at the end of the journey.

I’m also trying the starch thing. I think I didn’t starch enough the fabrics for this block, and that this would have made lots of difference in the piecing process. With these little pieces, fraying is a nightmare.

The 3rd block’s information and link party can be found here.

2 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler™: Block 3

  1. Your block looks absolutely fantastic!!! I love your fabric choices and the pop of orange ;) So fun!!! And so glad you are enjoying the process. That is what this sampler is all about, and you did such a great job on your block. Just wonderful!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

