The Splendid Sampler™: Block 14

2016_04_02

The Splendid Sampler is a journey of learning, but also of discovering of new blogs, techniques and designers. The 14th block, “Flying high” by Janet Clare, falls into the designer-discovery category.

I find this block gorgeous in its simplicity. I took the chance to play with one of my favourites prints, and hardest to use due the high contrast between the big black letters and the cream background. I tried to free-motion machine appliqué the gulls, but my skills are not good enough and I think my darning foot works better if there’s something thicker underneath, so I gave up and stitched them by hand. I used a backstitch and 50Wt cotton thread.

There’s some poetry in birds flying above an ocean of letters, doesn’t it?

In the link party there are amazing blocks with gorgeous background fabrics. They can be found here.

Leave a Reply

