The Splendid Sampler™: Block 17

2016_04_15_1

The 17th block of The Splendid Sampler is called “Family Starsand is designed by Kimberly Jolly. I worked with one of The Fat Quarter Shop patterns before, so I didn’t foresee so many complications in this block, although the amount of pieces it has. I proved wrong.

The block shown is really the second block I made, after the first attempt resulted in a total disaster. The instructions are really easy to follow, and somehow quick, but the final block was a ¼ inch shorter all around, and really wonky. I didn’t try to understand what happened and re-tried again.

And I found out that some of my flying geese and all the central squares units weren’t the size they were supposed to be. I checked every one of them and there’s was no way I could piece them right away, so I traced templates and put the block together matching points and sewing lines with pins. Not the best way, but the resulting block is far better that the first attempt and it’s the right size.

Perhaps I shouldn’t have sewn on the line when making the corners for the squares, and a little inside of it instead? Do I press to much? Should I’ve starched more the fabric? I’ll find the answers in the next blocks…

Meanwhile, the information and link party for this 17th block are here.

2 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler™: Block 17

Leave a Reply

