The Splendid Sampler™: Block 25

2016_05_12

To be perfectly honest, block n.25 for The Splendid Sampler didn’t appeal really much to me the first time I saw it (Oh, no!! So much appliqué!!!). But it has grown on me, and now I’m thinking to leave it for some days as a “mini-quilt” on my design board (perhaps, because I managed to do it, in quite a satisfactory way?)

It is called “Sunday Best”, by Anne Sutton (Bunny Hill Designs). And it’s appliqué. Lots of. And I recall writing for block n.1:

“I’m not a fan of appliqué, and this was my first needle-turn appliqué ever.”

And for block n. 4:

“Having done block 1, I found myself rather comfortable sewing this one.”

And now, here it’s, a whole block with 13 pieces needle-turn appliquéd. So, if this is not a journey of learning, I don’t know what is it, then. I tried the starch-appliqué method (Anne Sutton has a tutorial on her website), but I didn’t like it at all. I don’t have freezer paper, so I used Stickvlies instead (the manufacturer says it can be used as a substitute for the paper, so…), but it’s not sturdy enough and didn’t allow for correct pressing of the seam allowances. So I decided to jump and face right-away needle-turn appliqué. And ta-dah! I’m really happy with the results.

I rather find my little bunny really elegant in its “Sunday best”, isn’t it? I still have to sew the little buttons, but I haven’t trimmed the block to its final size yet to avoid fraying (now its 7×7″), and I will add them afterwards, to make it more comfortable to cut. The stem for the flower is stitched with DMC embroidery floss n. 907 with a stem-stitch, and the face details with n. 844 and a satin-stitch.

And with this the 25% of the sampler has been reached. It seams it was yesterday it began, and it’s almost three months already. This is how all my blocks look so far (n. 20 is still in progress).

For the 25th block, the pattern and link party are here.

4 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler™: Block 25

    • Thank you for stopping by and leaving such a nice comment! I’m really enjoying this sampler and playing with the white-black scheme along with those colourful fabrics. I’m glad you like it!

      Like

  1. Hi Ariadna! Your blocks are so beautiful…. how lovely to see them altogether! Your bunny block looks fabulous…. you did a great job with the needle-turn applique! Christine x

    Like

    • Thank you Christine! I’m really proud of this little bunny… I still have it on my table, instead of keeping it with the other finished blocks inside a ring-folder (which I will have to change shortly, as I was very optimistic with the needed dimensions and is running short of space right now).

      Like

Leave a Reply

