The Splendid Sampler™: Block 20

2016_05_21_1

Block 20 for The Splendid Sampler “Nature’s Walk”, by Vicky Tucek, had lots of embroidery, and I decided to enjoy the process of stitching it instead of rushing and make something simpler just to keep in pace with the sampler. And it was worth it! I tried two stitches that were new to me, the satin stitch, indicated in the pattern, and the raised stem-stitch, which I used in the lower part of the flowers. I just love the texture it adds to the work, and is so deceptively easy to stitch!

2016_05_21_2
One of my concerns was how to keep with the colour scheme. I finally decided to stick to my plan, and played with a general grey with some pop of colours. I added not one, but two colours in this block (block n. 4 has also more than one colour in it), and highlight the “animal life” on the block. I just love this ladybug! The main stitch is back-stitch accordingly with the pattern, with DMC embroidery floss n. 645, and satin stitch for the details and the flowers. The butterfly is stitched with DMC embroidery floss n. 3809, and the ladybugs use French knots and DMC embroidery floss n. 309.

The borders are made with scraps from previous blocks… It just feels so good to be able to use fabric from scraps, instead of cutting from the original fat-eights! I know I should have enough fabric to end the sampler, but some pieces have perceptibly decreased and keeping them intact just one more block is to play safety.

Although a little bit late, the link party with the block’s info is here.

4 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler™: Block 20

    • Thanks Christine! I still have lots to learn, though… after this block, and seeing your samplers, the embroidery bug is luring me into beginning a new embroidery project just to learn a few more stitches…there’s still a long way ahead of me in this field!

      Like

Leave a Reply

