The Splendid Sampler™: Block 28

2016_05_25

The 28th block of The Splendid Sampler is called “Stitching Fashion”, by Charise Randell (Charise Creates). It depicts a wonderful dress, which I would undoubtedly wear, if it wasn’t that it’s actually too short… I don’t know why, but the final block is 1/8″ shorter than it should be.

I had lots of struggle with this block. I tried to follow Charise Randell’s instructions about not using seam allowances on the paper… I think I had to re-do almost every seam that holds two blocks together. I tried basting, not basting, pinning a lot, pinning less… In any case, the seam ripper needed to come to my rescue. I really like this block, so I will try to arrange the dimensional issue with the sashing, when it comes to it. Otherwise, I shall re-do it from scratch.

The thread running outside the spool is stitched using a running stitch and Anchor embroidery floss n. 234.

(Besides the patchwork part of the history, this block has made me want to stitch some actual garment… If I can get hold of some really pretty, cheap fabric to work with, I don’t discard the idea…).

The pattern and link party with other fabulous dresses can be found here.

2 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler™: Block 28

    • Thanks! This week is all about paper-piecing around here with the Splendid Sampler and the BoM from Cotton&Color… and yes, this was really tricky to put together. I’ve just seen block n.30 and it seems a pretty straightforward pieced block, which is just nice :-)

      Like

Leave a Reply

