A bucket

2016_06_13

This little bucket had been on my to-do list since I got the pattern, “2 Fat Quarter Bucket!”, by Me and My Sister Designs. It looks easy, and it really is! I think I spent like an hour to put it all together, and the results are fantastic. This one comes pretty handy to store my first attempt at knitting (the top of the yarn skein is barely visible), so, what is more appropriate, than a fabric with little, cute sheep?

This fabric is a Japanese print, and the lining is from a fat quarter gifted by the friend who taught me the basics of knitting.

The pattern calls for Décor-Bond 809, but I didn’t have and couldn’t find any, so I used the interfacing I already had at hand. Turned out it was not fusible, but nothing that a double-fusible strip from Ikea could not do (I laid several strips to secure the batting to the fabric). I think this interfacing worked really well, as the bucket stays almost perfectly straight.

I’m already planning making another one, this one to be given… and with a more appropriate interfacing!

Project: Bucket
Size: 6″W x 4 1/2″L x 7H / 15 x 11.5 x 18 cm
Date: June 2016
Pattern: 2 Fat Quarter Bucket!, Me and My Sister Designs
Exterior fabric: Japanese print, Kokka (?)
Lining fabric: Pascal et Beatrix Tissus
Batting: Thermolam TP970 (100% polyester), Legacy ; Bounding fusible strip, Ikea

2 thoughts on “A bucket

Leave a Reply

