The Splendid Sampler™: Block 32

2016_06_15

The 32th block of The Splendid Sampler is called “The Constant Needle”, by Laurie Simpson, of Minick&Simpson. I really like the name of the block and the idea behind the little story on it: although sewing is pretty new to me (I learnt to sew as a grown-up and got into patchwork about 4 years ago), I can’t think of myself without a needle right now.

The block itself is, again, purely appliqué. I tried the Pellon-on-the-back method by Lori Holt (tutorial here), but I don’t know whether it was the interfacing I used that was to loose, that the pieces are to small for this technique, or that simply, I made something wrong, but it didn’t convince me at all, so I started over going with the fusible appliqué method.

And I had to wait until I got the chance to visit my local quilt shop, because I had run out of fusible interfacing. The pieces are reinforced with a backstitch using Lecien’s Cosmos variegated floss n. 5040 and n. 8055.

I considered making a pieced background, following Christine B.’s idea, but in the end I stuck with a unique background piece. I hope I won’t run out of large enough background pieces in the last blocks.

The pattern and link party for this particular block can be found here.

2 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler™: Block 32

  1. Another lovely block Ariadna! I love the fabric you decided on for the background. Have you started putting your blocks together yet? I have seen that some people have…. I will wait until the end myself. Christine x

    Like

    • This newsprint fabric works perfect for backgrounds, problem is, to run out of it in the middle of the sampler. I won’t put my blocks together until the end, so I don’t compromise colour balance in the overall quilt and I can play with replacing the blocks if needed… And I don’t have any idea which kind of sashing I’m going to use… Depending of how it looks with all 100 blocks together!

      Like

Leave a Reply

