The Splendid Sampler™: Block 33

2016_06_18

The 33th block of The Splendid Sampleris called “Selvage Saver” by Pat Sloan. I love this block! I usually keep the selvages of my fabric, although I haven’t used them yet in a specific project. Including the selvages in the quilt feels like a little tribute: my quilt is defined by my fabric choices, and this is what distinguishes it from the rest of samplers being sewn. So, I think it’s fair enough to include the name of the fabric in a rather visible way.

I had already pieced this block and taken the photos and written the blog post when I realised I had made a mistake. I thought I didn’t have selvages from the “Pie Making Day” fabric, so I couldn’t include a specific name for the coloured part of my quilt. I did include one of prints, but I didn’t want it to be the focal point of the block, so I chose one of the greys with a little touch of colour (but not enough to be a distraction). And then, I remembered I had put aside three prints that I’m not going to use in the sampler, and, of course, when checking, one of them had printed selvages! So I decided to unpick the block and re-do the last part just to include this one.

I’m glad I remember in time I had this fabric pulled aside. Now both collections are fully represented.

This was a really fun block to put together. The block’s info and link party are here.

2 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler™: Block 33

Leave a Reply

