The Splendid Sampler™: Block 34

2016_06_19

Block n.34 for The Splendid Sampler is calledLemonade, by Amy Gibson, and it includes curved piecing. I can’t recall having done curved piecing before, and it was quite a challenge. In fact, the two pieces are pieced in different ways: the first attempt, with the sewing machine, required seam-ripper and the resulting block was a little bit off (I tried to amend it when joining the whole block together, and I’m pretty happy about the end result). The second attempt was hand-sewn, tracing the sewing lines, pining a lot and sewing very slowly with tiny stitches.

Putting the rest of the block together went pretty fast; I’ve noticed that my piecing skills have really improved since this sampler began, and I couldn’t be more happy about that. I needed almost no seam-ripper to get those pointy triangles!

I wanted to give this block a fresh look, playing with the block’s name and theme, so I tried to play with not very contrasting fabrics. (And yes, I couldn’t resist to add a lemon to the photo…)

The pattern and link party, without actual lemons, are here.

*Block n.35 has lots of embroidery, which I want to do (instead of trying those stitches in my machine that have never been used). So, it’s moving to the slow lane, just behind block n. 31. Block n.36 requires some extra time, too, so it’s going to the queue.

2 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler™: Block 34

Leave a Reply

