The Splendid Sampler™: Block 40

2016_07_05

Block n. 40 for The Splendid SamplerFlights of Friendship, designed by Barb Groves and Mary Jacobson (Me and My Sister Designs) surely brought a smile, as I had the (amazing) opportunity to get to know Barb and Mary when I attended one of their classes. Not only for this, but also for the little history behind the block… I also got to know some wonderful quilters!

For the block itself, I had trouble getting matching points and seams, and this brings me back to the pressing issue I mentioned sometime ago. After some time without using it, I went back to work with my little travel iron, and I think the poor pressing the little iron can provide is one of the main reasons of some of the misshapen seams. The other being that it seems I still have a long way to go before working comfortable with HST. I must remember that I’m working on the bias, so extra care should be taken.

I just love the block. I’m already planning a bigger quilt made with it…

While I decide to stay on track with all that is currently on my table, other versions and the block info are found here.

Leave a Reply

