A tunic

2016_07_31

I had wanted to sew one of the dresses included in the book “Handmade Style” by Anna Graham (Noodlehead) since I made my carry-all pincushion, and when I saw the sew along she organised on her blog it seemed the “now or never” occasion. So I decided to take the plunge and give it a try. Not that I hadn’t sewn garments before, but it was on a workshop with a teacher, and having some extra tips and detailed photos really helped.

Even though, there has been lots of “firsts” while sewing this one: my first placket, my first -and my machine’s- buttonholes… The fact that the tunic’s construction was divided into five-weeks time of work made everything simpler and more achievable, and certainly, helped to avoid frustration along the way. And it’s true: things you haven’t tried look more complicated than they really are.

I haven’t made any alteration to the original pattern. The only personal detail is the use of buttons to secure the cuffs. And, although the photo doesn’t make it justice, I’m really happy with the result.

Project: Tunic
Date: July 2016
Pattern: Women’s tunic, Anna Graham, from the book “Handmade style”
Fabric: Silky Cotton by Penelope, Europe.

 

Leave a Reply

