The Splendid Sampler™: Block 50

2016_08_08

So here it is, the halfway milestone itself... Block n. 50 (out of 100! Sometimes it’s worth to remember that!) for The Splendid Sampler is calledFlights of Fancy, by Joanna Figueroa (Fig Tree & Co). It falls into the category of “lots-of-tiny-pieces” pieced block, and needed some seam-ripper to get matching points. However, my main problem with this one is that I’m not sure about the colour scheme, so I will revisit it at the end of the journey. I’m starting to run out of some prints, so I prefer to revisit blocks at the end with the overall picture and the overall remaining fabric.

In case I should do so, I must remind myself to accurately place the flip triangles, to carefully press (not iron) and to pin a lot! This kind of block needs anything but calm; with these little pieces any minor misplacement, stretching and/or fraying means a whole difference in the final result.

The pattern and link party are here.

Leave a Reply

