The Splendid Sampler™: Block 51

2016_08_10

The 51th block of The Splendid Sampler is called BEE Happy, by Katja Marek, and it’s a wonderful use of English Paper Piecing. I love to EPP, I find it, although slow, a solid technique to construct complex patterns with less fabric waste than foundation paper-piecing. What I don’t specially like are hexagons…

I followed the instructions as they are my own way of working with EPP, that is: basting on cardboard (with thread), whipstitching, starching, removing the cardboard. I don’t use glue at all. The only thing for this particular block is that I should have cut the templates following the inner part of the line, as the block ended a little bigger than expected (and I think it’s due to the thickness of the cardboard used). This can be noticed as I had to replace the hexagon-flower to keep it within the block limits.

A two – three afternoons work, and a cute addition to the sampler. The pattern and link party can be found here.

2 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler™: Block 51

  1. Beautiful job on your bee! I scrolled a bit further and found your compilation of all your blocks, I love them. The grey tones with that little touch of colour is very effective. Katja

    Like

Leave a Reply

