The Splendid Sampler™: Block 55

2016_08_26

Block n. 55 for The Splendid SamplerDedication Roseis designed by Lisa Bongean (Primitive Gatherings), and is a 19-pieces appliqué block. Despite this number, it was not a difficult one, but it took its time. I doubted between needle-turn appliqué or using fusible web; but the amount of sharp points made me decide for the second, combining the fusible web with a backstitch to secure the fabric without altering the cleanness of the lines.

I’m not sure about my fabric selection for this one, though. There isn’t enough contrast between the background and the leaves; I tried to highlight them using variegated floss. Also, I tried to add more interest using two colours: the green fabric and yellow floss for the little flowers. I think the black centers help to atract attention too.

Pattern, info and link party are here.

Leave a Reply

