The Splendid Sampler™: Block 69

2016_10_14

Block n. 69 for The Splendid SamplerFull Circleis designed by Holly DeGroot (Bijou Lovely) and it’s what the name says, a circle. Sewing curves… not my cup of tea! I find them really tricky (better to say, I find pinning them really tricky!).

I paper-pieced the stripped half of the circle. Quick, easy and accurate. Before ripping the paper, I marked the template on the fabric and basted as instructed. Then I removed the paper and lastly I cut the piece. Having the paper and lots of margin to guide the fabric underneath the machine’s foot made things a lot easier when basting.

Putting the block together was tricky, as said, but everything went smoothly, except for one little detail: I run short of seam allowance in the centre seam. So I had to unpick that seam and one of the curves. In the second attempt I sewed the curve from the centre to one edge, and then from the other edge to the centre. It seemed like it helped to keep everything from shifting. After that second try, the centre seam turned out with the correct seam allowances, and the block with the correct dimensions, albeit a little bit wonky.

Pattern, info and link party are here.

2 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler™: Block 69

    • Thank you Christine! It is tricky, but patience and lots (lots) of pins helped. Paper piecing the stripped half also helps… keeping the paper after basting the edge of the curved template helped me to do so accurately and therefore maintain the semi-circle shape undeformed until the very moment of sewing it to its counterpart. Hope this may help you too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

