The Splendid Sampler™: Block 70

2016_10_25

The 70th block of The Splendid Sampler is calledBowsby Jane Davidson (Quilt Jane – Want it, Need it, Quilt). I like the thought included in the pattern, and it applies wonderfully to my quilting journey right now. Perhaps it has been through practice and perseverance that now paper-piecing doesn’t look so intimidating. Because this year, if anything, I have paper-pieced a lot!

(And I will require lots of patience and perseverance to advance into the next step, that is, quilting!… but that’s for next year…)

I tried to keep this block a low volume one (I already have some blocks with lots of contrast), but I think I might have gone too far. What’s more, I finally run out of one of the prints, the one I was using for the background. I miscalculated, and did a minor cutting mistake… but there was no more fabric left for the final strip of one of the blocks (it’s easy to spot if it’s searched for!). For the moment, I won’t compromise the big pieces of fabric I have still left by re-doing it again. At the end, I might revisit this one (it’s a two afternoon work, but nothing more complicated than that at this point!), and perhaps add more contrast in the bows.

The pattern and link party are found here.

2 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler™: Block 70

    • Thank you Christine, I truly appreciate and take into account your opinion about the look of the block! Yes, it seems impossible we are (almost) in November! And that we are entering the final quarter of this project, too… I’m already working on my next year list of projects, and sincerely, I already need to cut it down ;-)

      Like

Leave a Reply

