The Splendid Sampler™: Block 72

2016_10_28

The Splendid Sampler‘s block n.72 Full Circle Star”, designed by Victoria Findlay Wolfe, is quite a complete one: appliqué and templates. The piecing of this particular block requires time, but I don’t find working with templates difficult -just entertaining-. For the appliqué I decided to do needle-turn appliqué, which I was rather comfortable working with in the centre pieces, but I don’t think it worked for the small circles. At Victoria Findlay’s blog there are some tips about appliqué, and I’m thinking on trying the paper-basted-circle-clip-from-the-back-and-remove-the-paper method and change those circles. I’m also realising that I need to balance some colours on the overall quilt, so perhaps I change the coloured fabric for this one in case I decide to revisit it.

Pattern, info and link party are here.

2 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler™: Block 72

    • Thank you! I think that this is one of that kind of blocks, that if you try to rush it, it won’t work at all… The only thing perhaps is that with the appliqué pieces the centre seams get pretty thick. Just to remember when planing the quilting ;-)

      Like

Leave a Reply

