Ongoing projects: October

2016_10_31_1

It seems impossible that Christmas is only two months away… It may seem a lot of time, but it’s not when you’re planning sewing-gifts! October has flown by, and there has been some progress on some projects, an absolut halt in others. The Splendid Sampler™, the Cotton&Color BoM and the Star-sampler sew along are the main priorities right now, and my knitting projects have taken over my hand-sewing time.

Even though, I managed to do some progress on the Stars-quilt. Sewing the background pieces to the stars is slower than just putting the stars together:

Stars basted: 84/84 (504/504 templates)
Stars sewn: 84 /84
Background pieces basted: 504/504
Stars completed:
7/84 (+7 from the last stats)

The Frivol n.10 quilt, featuring the Cookie Exchange collection by Sweetwater, for Moda Fabrics is finished and on a little retreat. Meanwhile I get it back and photographed, you can read about it and my adventures sewing it in a short Q&A at Cotton&Color’s blog.

2016_10_31_2

I finished my first knitting project, a scarf! I still have to block it, but I’m considering it finished -post and photos to come…-. And my second project is making good progress in a consistent pace. It’s a top I hope I will be wearing next spring…

The Wild Jelly Roll n. 3 pattern by Me and My Sister Designs is the neglected project of the month. Absolutely no progress on this one. And I don’t foresee any progress in the next few weeks…

Christmas sewing: I have a list of small projects to sew for Christmas… let’s see how many of them I can finish on time (no pressure there…)

The Splendid Sampler is (almost) up-to-date… I’m currently working on block 74, and block 75 is an embroidery one that will require some time.

2 thoughts on “Ongoing projects: October

  1. Your stars are looking great! I went to the C&C website to read all about your Christmas Quilt….. what a beautiful quilt you have made! I love it and the colours are so fresh and modern! Beautiful fabric choices! Christine x (My Wild Jelly Roll quilt is still waiting for my attention too…. next year’s list!!)

    Like

    • I’m just amazed how adding the background to the stars makes the prints pop! I’m glad you liked the Christmas quilt… that was a constant trial and error process (quilting part… It took me ages to summon up the courage to quilt it)! I had so much fun, anyway. I love that collection from Sweetwater, I just couldn’t resist! (I’m also realising that my jelly-roll quilt will have to wait until next year, too…)

      Like

Leave a Reply

