The Splendid Sampler™: Block 84

2016_12_14

Block 84 of The Splendid Sampler, “Early Bird” by Joan Ford, is one that falls directly into my “really difficult to piece” category. Fortunately, a second version of the block using paper-piecing was given, so there was no doubt which way to go. Moreover, taking into account I now have a serious problem of fabric shortage, and I’d better play safe, and using scraps, rather than risking big pieces of fabric with an uncertain outcome.

Paper-piecing this one was not difficult; the only thing to be considered is the thickness of the horizontal seams when it comes to plan the quilting. The eye is embroidered using satin-stitch.

The pattern and link party can be found here.

2 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler™: Block 84

  1. What a beautiful block Ariadna! I am sorry I have not been to visit your blog as much recently… it has been very busy here!! I hope that you enjoy the rest of your week and that your plans for Christmas are going well! Christine x

    Like

    • Thank you Christine! I’m glad you stopped by anyway… This time of the year is somehow crazy, isn’t? My plans for Christmas have seen different fates: the ones that are to be delivered are finished, but the table runner I was sewing for myself is patiently waiting to be quilted. I’m stuck in the quilting design, so until I make my mind up, it stays in the WIP list.

      Like

Leave a Reply

