Moda’s Frivol n. 10: “Sugar”

2016_12_16_01

This is my Christmas project for this year! I started it in July having already in mind the idea to use it as a table-topper for the Christmas season. I loved the Frivol’s tin, the fabric, and the pattern. And it didn’t seem difficult, so there I went. But this little one was, if nothing, a journey of mistakes and lots, lots, lots of learning.

Firstly, I decided to starch the fabric (it was pre-cut). I use a water-based starch, and, guess what, there was shrinkage. A lot. I mean, I was lucky that I could follow the cutting instructions, because the shrinkage was so huge that I almost didn’t have enough fabric for the pattern cutting requirements. Fortunately, not all the pre-cuts in the tin were needed, so there were a couple of cutting-error victims that went directly to the scraps bin.

Piecing itself was not complicated and really quick. But then came the quilting part. I’d already decided to quilt in the ditch, but I interrupted the first attempt before I had finished the first block. It was a disaster. My walking foot front part is really narrow and it’s really difficult to see where the needle drops, so the resulting quilting was everywhere but in the ditch. I unpicked the stitches, and thought of a second plan.

2016_12_16_02

Which was eco-quilting the squares. In the second attempt I found I couldn’t rely on following my foot as a guide, so unpicking again it was; and then I marked the quilting lines without removing the safety pins I’ve used for basting. Wonky lines are a short term for what came out.

At the end: I pulled the fabric too much; my machine is really tiny to hold large quilts (and this one wasn’t specially large!), so there are irregular stitches -even using the walking foot!- due to wrongly feeding the quilt into the machine. And the border is, in no ways, square.

2016_12_16_03

I washed the quilt before adding the binding. I used a 2 1/2″ wide binding strip, but now I think it should have been less, perhaps 2 1/4″.

And I attached a label!!

2016_12_16_04

Overall, I’m really happy with the results. I learnt a lot from my own mistakes, and now I’m enjoying a new, beautiful table-topper, with all its imperfections.

This quilt was on exhibition in my local quilt shop, that’s why this post is so late, even it was finished a couple of months ago. It was also featured in a short Q&A at Cotton&Color’s blog.

2016_12_16_05

Project: Table-topper / Wall hanging
Size: 11″ x 14 1/4″/ 27.5 x 36 cm
Date: July 2016- September 2016
Pattern: Sugar, by Sweetwater (Moda Frivol n. 10)
Top fabric: The Cookie Exchange, by Sweetwater, for Moda Fabrics
Border: Galeria, Gail Marie, P&B Textiles
Backing fabric: unknown, a fabric purchased four years (?) ago
Batting: Regular Thermolam TP970, Legacy
Quilting: machine-quilted, Scanfil Organic 4801
Binding: Quilter’s Linen, Robert Kaufmann
Label: Bomull, Ikea

Linking with Finish it up Friday!

2 thoughts on “Moda’s Frivol n. 10: “Sugar”

Leave a Reply

