The Splendid Sampler™: Block 89

2017_01_09

The 89th block of The Splendid Sampler is called “From Colorado to the Midwest”, by Ebony Love. I pieced this one as a leader-and-ender project for another block, and it came together really smoothly! I was amazed when I realised I had only used the seam-ripper once, and for a misplaced piece.

It indeed helped the construction method for the Flying Geese units. I rather prefer working with triangles on the bias than the stitch-and-flip method. In this case, all the units needed some minor trimming and all had the right dimensions. This method is also a fabric saver!

I also pressed all the seams open in this one… the block I was working on called for them, and I just kept doing it on this one… which worked!

Pattern, link party and other information are here.

2 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler™: Block 89

  1. Hello Ariadna! Sorry I haven’t had time to visit recently…. hope to have more time to visit in the coming weeks! This is a beautiful block and I am really looking forward to seeing all that you have planned for 2017! Can’t wait!! Hope you have a great year! Christine x

    Like

    • There’s nothing to be sorry about! Life happens, and I’m just grateful you can pop from time to time! I had lots of fun piecing this one as I was trying new methods, which seem they work! I really hope 2017 will be a year full of quilting-fun! Have a nice week :-)

      Like

Leave a Reply

