Christmas gifts for a knitter

2017_01_12_1

This past Christmas’ sewing involved a special gift for a friend who, among other crafty things, is a passionate knitter. And when this sheep fabric appeared on the quilt-shop, I knew I had to do something with it.

So, I planed to sew something useful! The “2 Fat Quarter Bucket!”, by Me and My Sister Designs, has become a favorite when it comes to sewing useful things. Fast, easy and versatile. And it showcases the fabric, which is also important! (other buckets are here and here).

And to pair it with something else, I had had my focus on this open-wide pouch by Anna Graham (Noodlehead) for a long time, and I thought it could be of use for a knitter. The yarn-balls fabric from Cotton+Steel is just the perfect lining, isn’t it?

2017_01_12_2

This one took some thought, however. Zippers and I aren’t good friends, and my first interfacing choice didn’t work quite well.

Now they have been delivered and I hope being enjoyed by their new owner!

2017_01_12_3

Project: Bucket
Size: 6″W x 4 1/2″L x 7″H / 15 x 11.5 x 18 cm
Date: December 2016
Pattern: 2 Fat Quarter Bucket!, Me and My Sister Designs
Exterior fabric: Wool Ewe Be Mine, Maria Kalinowsky for Kanvas Studio, Bernatex
Lining fabric: Reel Time, Zen Chic, Moda Fabrics
Batting: Thermolam TP971 (100% polyester), Legacy

2017_01_12_4

Project: Open-wide zippered pouch
Size: Medium (9″ tall x 12″ wide)
Date: December 2016
Pattern: Open-wide zippered pouch, Anna Graham (Noodlehead)
Exterior fabric: Wool Ewe Be Mine, Maria Kalinowsky for Kanvas Studio, Bernatex
Denim fabric, unknown manufacturer
Lining fabric: Cat Lady, Sarah Watts, Cotton+Steel
Batting: Heavy interfacing, unknown manufacturer

2 thoughts on “Christmas gifts for a knitter

  1. Oooh I really love these Ariadna! What beautiful fabric you have used…. those sheep are so cute and make the perfect gift for someone who knits!! I also have the pattern for the Me and My Sister Buckets…. I really must find it and make some cute buckets too! Christine x

    Like

    • Thank you Christine! I’m really happy how these two turned out, and the recipient was really happy too! The fabric is amazing… sometimes it happens you find a fabric that seems intended for a specific person, doesn’t it? You should try the bucket pattern… I think I have made already three of them and they make for terrific gifts- I use mine for storing knitting material, but one was for a baby and I see plenty of uses in that area. It has become my go-to pattern for quick gifts!

      Like

Leave a Reply

