The Splendid Sampler™: Block 92

2017_01_18

Block 92 of The Splendid Sampler is called Double Bees, by Beth Bradley. Unlike the two previous ones -90 and 91- that require some extra work, this one was quick and easy, so I jumped right into it meanwhile I work on the others.

I went for fusible appliqué with a blanket stitch for the appliqué parts, and a stem-stitch for the embroidered details. I may skipped my own colour-scheme a little bit on this one by adding two colours, but accidentally this combination pop up and I couldn’t find another one that convinced me enough to change it.

Pattern, info and link party are here.

4 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler™: Block 92

  1. Your Splendid Sampler block is just beautiful. You have been so good at keeping up with them and I know your finished quilt is going to look stunning….. have you had any thoughts how you are going to piece them together yet? Can’t wait to see what you do….. not long until all 100 blocks have been released! Christine x

    Like

    • I am myself surprised that I’ve gone so far with the Sampler! This last week was a little bit chaotic with two other projects (a course I took and my first attempts at fmq), but having reached this point I’m determined to finish the 100 blocks within schedule, which is well as you said around the corner! My idea is to piece them together with a simple sashing (no cornerstones), so all the attention goes to the blocks, or using a low contrast fabric for the cornerstones… I’ve an idea of the fabric I’m going to use, but I need to check it to see if it indeed works. I guess there will be some trial and error until I set up my mind! Thank you for all your encouragement and lovely comments!

      Like

Leave a Reply

