The Splendid Sampler™: Block 96

2017_02_09

Block n. 96 of The Splendid Sampler is called In the sunshine, by Cheryl Arkison. I already had 2.5″ squares cut from previous blocks (aka cutting mistakes), so I didn’t have to think about the colour scheme for this one.

I deviated from the instructions in the flag construction: I sewed directly a wonky line wrong-sides together, then trimmed the seam allowances and cut notches and clips to help they following their form when pressing. For the appliqué I went with needle turn-appliqué.

I’m thinking of using this flag on the horizontal as a label for the sampler… Although I label, if I do so, on the back, it can be a good place to stitch the name and dates of the quilt, doesn’t it?

Pattern, link party and other info are here.

2 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler™: Block 96

  1. Hello Ariadna! Your Splendid Sampler blocks are just delightful and I can’t wait to see them all pieced together. I know you will do a fabulous job whatever final setting you decide to use! Your fabrics choices are always brilliant. Hope you had fun at your FMQ class! Best wishes Christine x

    Like

    • Thank you so much Christine for such a nice comment! I’m already thinking about the final layout, but I firstly need to finish my blocks… The class I took was about a collage technique; however, I’m taking part on a QAL to learn how to FMQ (hence the confusion). To be honest, I’m really struggling with my little machine! It’s an up-and-down process between frustration and achievement ;-)

      Like

Leave a Reply

