The Splendid Sampler™: Block 98

2017_02_18

Block 98 of The Splendid SamplerFleur de Lei, by Lynn Harris, wasn’t an easy one. A year ago I wouldn’t have tried to needle-turn appliqué a piece like this. However, if anything, with this sampler I’ve learned how to appliqué, and that things are worth a try. It’s not perfect, but I’m really happy I followed the instructions. Perhaps, if I was to do it again, I would use some interfacing foundation and glue basting. Also, I would draw the margins of the finished block; there are two points that are past the seam allowance (the pencil marks are the 6 ½” cutting lines). I have a plan for fixing that when putting the quilt together, though.

Link party and info are here.

3 thoughts on “The Splendid Sampler™: Block 98

    • Well, I perfectly understand that!! It took me some hours and lots of patience to get this done; and machine appliqué works perfectly fine for me too! It’s just that I love to hand sew from time to time ;-) Thank you for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I really need to get back to my patchwork of the crosses. I found with the Splendid Sampler that I spent so much time on it, that by the time I caught up – over and over – that I needed a break in the evenings.

        Like

Leave a Reply

