On-going projects: February update

2017_03_01

(Each month I write a monthly summary about what’s going on behind the finishedblocks and projects shared on the everyday posts of the blog. That helps me in keeping track of the on-going projects and acts as a motivation guide).

February was marked by two unexpected trips that keep me away of the sewing room. On the other hand, they helped in advancing hand-sewn, portable projects.

All 100 blocks for The Splendid Sampler™ are finished! I can’t believe I’ve actually made it! Now I’m going to take a couple of weeks break to catch on other things and I’ll start revisiting those blocks that require so and start putting the sampler together. I already have decided on the setting, I just need to audit the fabric for it.

The 2016 BoM by Cotton&Color was planned to start being quilted on January. However, I couldn’t spend time on it. I don’t foresee any advance for it on March, even though I would like to have it, at least, basted.

I finished the blocks for the “Buttons” pattern by Me and My Sister Designs. I want to have the top finished by the end of March!

The Star-Sampler quilt along by Amanda of 3and3quarters is up-to-date.

– The Stars-quilt was the major beneficiary of my trips this month:

Stars basted: 84/84 (504/504 templates)
Stars sewn: 84 /84
Background pieces basted: 504/504
Stars completed: 24/84 (+6 from the last stats)

I finished the first block for the Flower Festival quilt-along by Leah Day. I already posted about the piecing of this one, and I plan to post about the quilting part later this week. However, I couldn’t start the second one, so I’m thinking to skip directly to the March’s block and catch up with February’s as soon as possible.

I also couldn’t work on the Cotton&Color‘s Project of the Month pattern for February. I did however end January’s pouch. Post to come.

The Quilt Block Cookbook sew-along by Amy Gibson of Stitchery Dickory Dock is the neglected project this month. I couldn’t keep up with the weekly block, so I have like 6 weeks to catch up. But I did prioritize the Splendid Sampler blocks, so now I’ll try to find some time to sew along. I was having lots of fun playing with my fabric stash and I already have several ideas for the blocks.

And I wanted to finish the quilt from the course I did on Laura Heine‘s collage quilts, but it just didn’t happen. It’s taking priority this month, hope I can have it finished also before the end of it.

On a brighter side, I did finish two projects! My knitted top is finished and waiting to be blocked! And I was able to finish a long-running embroidery project. As always, each of them will get its on post on the blog.

Although I couldn’t stick to my original plan for February, looking back I realise I did some great progress on the Stars-quilt, and I was able to finish two projects! Not to mention, having 100 blocks finished…That’s how all of them look like together!

2017_03_01_02

5 thoughts on “On-going projects: February update

    • I still can’t barely believe it :-)! The other day I was making my maths for the sashing fabric and this is going to be my biggest quilt so far with difference… But having made all of them gives motivation enough to keep going!

      Like

Leave a Reply

