The Cookbook QAL: 3. Lemon Whip

I’m not following this quilt-along quite regularly, but it’s nice to sneak in to just piece one block. On this occasion I went back to block n.3, although I think it’s turn to work on n. 13…

A couple of things about this one; firstly, I used a canvas fabric for the central flower. I just love this design (it’s from a canvas printed panel), but canvas fabric does add a lot of bulk on the seams, and makes it a little more tricky to sew the units.

Secondly, I’m not quite happy with the placement of the appliqué pieces. I think next time I’ll appliqué them drawing the seam allowances first on the unit – on another matter, it seems I’m pretty fond of appliquéing with a straight stitch…-.

    1. From Porto with love (canvas panel), Sarah Watts, Cotton+Steel
    2. Fusions 4070, Robert Kaufman Fabrics
    3. Life, enjoy the ride; Tina Higgins Designs, Quilting Treasures
    4. Hungarian Blue, Sue Zipkin, Clothworks Textiles

*The background is from the 1000Colours collection, by Lecien, grey n. 501

(This block belongs to a QAL hosted by Amy Gibson –Stitchery Dickory Dock– and based on her book “The Quilt Block Cookbook”).

Leave a Reply

