Pack your bag n.8 (August): Sewing bag

This is my version of the August’s pattern for the Cotton & Color Project of the Month program. And I just love it! I thought this would be a very useful bag for my EPP projects, so I indulged myself in buying fabrics specifically for it.

And of course, I went with some Cotton+Steel prints, paired with some Zen Chic designs. For the outside I decided on a canvas fabric -I foresee a lot of use for it!- and for the lining I couldn’t resist this dotted, stained print (how fun is that, a stained-on-purpose fabric?). I love to work with dark blues and denims, so the colour scheme was really easy on this one. To complement them, I threw in this salmon-reddish print from an old Zen Chic collection, whose big pattern worked really well as outside pocket. The denim pocket is, in fact, a denim piece of fabric, left over from some garment sewing.

The use of a bobbin print underneath the bobbins is included on the pattern instructions (yep, more Cotton+Steel for this particular one). The construction of the bobbin holders was quite tricky, but nothing that a well sorted tool box couldn’t fix.

Overall, I had lots of fun sewing this one, and as said, I can see it being very useful for my EPP projects, or to carry the basic notions when attending classes.

Project: Sewing bag
Size: 3/4″ x
7″ x 10″ / 2 x 18 x 25 cm (aprox.)
Date:
August 2017
Pattern:
Sewing bag (PoM #8), Cotton & Color
Exterior fabric:
Mesa (canvas), by A. Marcelle Abegg, Cotton+Steel
Lining fabric:
Bluebird, by Melody Miller, Cotton+Steel
Inner pockets fabrics: Figures, by Zen Chic, Moda Fabrics
Hey Dot!, by Zen Chic, Moda Fabrics
Bluebird, by A. Marcelle Abegg, Cotton+Steel
Trinket, by Melody Miller, Cotton+Steel
Denim fabric
Handles fabric: Mesa, by A. Marcelle Abegg, Cotton+Steel
Batting:
medium-heavy interfacing (unknown producer), Thermolam TP971

Leave a Reply

